White County Looking for New Coach as Jerry Lowery Resigns

White County Looking for New Coach as Jerry Lowery Resigns

After enduring back to back winless seasons and the state’s longest losing streak at 24 games, Jerry Lowery has resigned his coaching post after three seasons at White County.

After winning three games in his first season in Sparta, Lowery has seen his roster numbers dwindle as the Warriors went winless the last two seasons and his overall record was 3-27.

Lowery, a 1976 White County graduate has coached at both White County high and middle school since 2002 and also had been the assistant principal at the high school as well.

“I want to first thank Coach Lowery for all that he means to this school and to me personally. He is a great man who has spent many years making a positive impact on our school, community and athletic programs. As always, we sat down at the end of the season and discussed the entire football program,” White County principal Grant Swallows said.

“As we talked, we both agreed that it is time for change. Honestly, it isn’t just about record, it’s about creating some positive momentum. Sometimes change helps accomplish that. I’m grateful for the work of Coach Lowery and his staff. We will begin work immediately to hire the right person to lead our football program moving forward.”

It has been a tough five seasons at White County since their last playoff appearance back in 2013 as the Warriors are 8-42 and since 2001, the program is 55-130 overall with five playoff appearances (5A in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013, 2005 in 4A).

There are currently eight programs looking for a head coach they are: Boyd Buchanan, Cumberland County, East Hickman, Fayetteville, Hunters Lane, Sweetwater, Tellico Plains and White County

Giles County Wide Receiver Zeigler Commits to Skyhawks
UT-Martin continues to recruit strong in Tennessee.

The Skyhawks got good news today as Giles County wide receiver K.J. Zeigler took to twitter and announced he was committing to UT-Martin.

“After sitting and talking with my family I had a couple choices of schools to choose from. And I’m proud to announce that I’m 100% committed to UT-Martin. I feel that the environment is the best fit for me to move forward with my academic and football career. I thank the coaches for the opportunity and I can’t wait to put on a Skyhawk uniform,” Ziegler tweeted.

He is the fifth in state player to commit to UT-Martin in the 2019 class joining Columbia Academy defensive back Rush Lansdell, Whitehaven defensive back Vincent Guy, Farragut wide receiver Jaden Gibbs, Farragut running back Isaiah Gibbs
And FACS strong safety Carson Evans.

This season Zeigler caught 42 passes for 678 yards and scored seven touchdowns and for his career he finished with 161 catches for 2,854 yards and 36 touchdowns.

The following 75 players have committed in the Class of 2019:
Giles County wide receiver K.J. Zeigler (UT-Martin), Fulton wide receiver Dashaun Mckinney (Austin Peay), Ensworth defensive back Dante Wynn (Air Force),
Germantown wide receiver Cameron Baker (Memphis), Houston offensive guard Kip Frankland (Navy), Arlington running back Kenneth Walker III (Kent State), Blackman wide receiver Trey Knox (Arkansas), St. George’s defensive end Justin Bray (Mercer), Hillsboro athlete Gyasi Mattison (Memphis), CPA linebacker Kane Patterson (Clemson), Nolensville quarterback Brandon Wharton II (Murray State), Clarksville Academy quarterback Bryce Robinson (Austin Peay), Whitehaven offensive guard Melvin McBride (Tennessee), Columbia Academy defensive back Rush Lansdell (UT-Martin), FRA defensive tackle Tymon Mitchell (Georgia), Lausanne defensive back Erek Campbell (Austin Peay), Whitehaven defensive back Vincent Guy (UT-Martin), Oakland running back Xavier Myers (Illinois State), Briarcrest quarterback Jackson Walker (Richmond), Blackman defensive back Adonis Otey (Arkansas), Ensworth defensive back Wesley Walker (Georgia Tech), Independence wide receiver T.J. Sheffield (Purdue), Centennial running back Jariel Wilson (Austin Peay), Hillsboro defensive end Joseph Honeysucker (Memphis), Christian Brothers offensive guard Jacob Likes (Memphis), Whitehaven tight end Cormontae Hamilton (Ohio State), Lausanne defensive back Cameron Sims (Central Arkansas), Farragut wide receiver Tanner Corum (Southern Illinois), Farragut wide receiver Jaden Gibbs (UT-Martin), Mt. Juliet kicker Robbie Brewington (Cumberland), Mt. Juliet punter Matt Pewitt (Cumberland), FACS strong safety Carson Evans (UT-Martin), Watertown athlete Heath Price (Tennessee Tech), Blackman wide receiver Micaleous Elder (MTSU), Pearl Cohn quarterback Xavier Shepard (Kennesaw State), MUS linebacker Dorian Hopkins (Tulsa), Greeneville quarterback Cade Ballard (Army), BGA running back Jaylen Frierson (ETSU), Lebanon defensive end Zion Logue (Georgia), Elizabethton offensive tackle Garrett Jennings (Western Kentucky), ECS kicker Chandler Caughron (Central Arkansas), Smyrna defensive tackle Marlon Alexander (Gardner Webb), Farragut running back Isaiah Gibbs (UT-Martin), Pearl Cohn defensive tackle Elijah Simmons (Tennessee), Oakland defensive back Woodi Washington (Oklahoma), Maplewood defensive back Travares Springer (Western Kentucky), CPA tight end Bryce McCormick (Furman), Lausanne running back Eric Gray (Michigan), Pearl Cohn wide receiver Jayden Harrison (Vanderbilt), Science Hill offensive tackle Blake Austin (Coastal Carolina), FRA athlete Lance Wilhoite (Oregon), Cordova offensive lineman Matthew Bedford (Indiana), BGA linebacker Chico Bennett (Georgia Tech), Whitehaven athlete Devin Boddie (Vanderbilt), Red Bank athlete Calvin Jackson (Wofford), Whitehaven athlete Keveon Mullins (South Carolina), Davidson Academy quarterback Stone Norton (Florida International), Christian Brothers defensive end Christian James (Vanderbilt), Germantown tight end Conner Richardson (Tulane), Dyersburg linebacker Chris Russell (Memphis), Karns athlete Thomas Harper (Oklahoma State), MBA linebacker Jackson Hannah (Nebraska), Oakland defensive end Joseph Anderson (South Carolina), Davidson Academy running back Da’Joun Hewitt (Purdue), Davidson Academy defensive end Ani Izuchukwu (Mississippi State), Greeneville wide receiver Dorien Goddard (Virginia), Memphis Central defensive tackle Trevis Hopper (Memphis), Greeneville tight end Cameron Hite (Wake Forest), Christian Brothers defensive end Bill Norton (Georgia), MUS defensive back Maurice Hampton (LSU), MBA offensive lineman Jackson Lampley (Tennessee), Kirby quarterback Jaden Johnson (Louisville), Independence quarterback Nathan Cisco (Idaho), Grace Christian Academy offensive tackle Wes Dorsey (Western Kentucky) and Friendship Christian defensive tackle Luke Smith (Appalachian State).

Contact Donovan at donovans1222@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter at Examine_Stew

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *