Mike Head Resigns at Antioch after two seasons

Mike Head Resigns at Antioch after two seasons

After two frustrating years at Antioch, Mike Head has resigned as head football coach at the Metro Nashville Class 6A school.

Head won his head coach debut in 2017 as the Bears defeated Station Camp 20-16 but the season went south quick and Antioch have lost 19 consecutive games in Head’s tenure at the school.

“Coach Head submitted his resignation letter late last week,” Metro Nashville Public Schools Athletic Director Roosevelt Sanders said.

The next head coach will be the fifth since 2012 joining Michael Woodward (2012, 2016), Brad Peden (2013-14), Calvin Hall (2015) and Head (2017-18).

There are currently 19 programs looking for a head coach they are: Antioch, Bartlett, Bledsoe County, Boyd Buchanan, Brighton, Carter, Cumberland County, East Hickman, Fayetteville, Gallatin, Hillcrest, Hunters Lane, Lipscomb Academy, Melrose, Northwest, Smith County, Tellico Plains, Walker Valley and Westview

Walker Commits to Wake Forest
Arlington running back Kenneth Walker III has committed to Wake Forest, six days after decommitting from Kent State, a school he committed to in early October.

Walker (5-10, 190) visited the Wake Forest campus over the weekend and chose the Demon Deacons over offers from Kent State, Arkansas State, Eastern Kentucky, Illinois State, Indiana State, Mercer, Old Dominion and Western Illinois.

He is the second in state player to commit to the Demon Deacons in the Class of 2019 joining Greeneville tight end Cameron Hite.

Walker rushed for 1,403 yards in only nine games and scored 27 total touchdowns as the Tigers made the Class 6A playoffs.

The following 76 players have committed in the Class of 2019:
Arlington running back Kenneth Walker III (Wake Forest), Houston offensive lineman Matthew Needham (UT-Martin), Nashville Overton offensive guard Steven Losoya (MTSU), Giles County wide receiver K.J. Zeigler (UT-Martin), Fulton wide receiver Dashaun Mckinney (Austin Peay), Ensworth defensive back Dante Wynn (Air Force), Germantown wide receiver Cameron Baker (Memphis), Houston offensive guard Kip Frankland (Navy), Blackman wide receiver Trey Knox (Arkansas), St. George’s defensive end Justin Bray (Mercer), Hillsboro athlete Gyasi Mattison (Memphis), CPA linebacker Kane Patterson (Clemson), Nolensville quarterback Brandon Wharton II (Murray State), Clarksville Academy quarterback Bryce Robinson (Austin Peay), Whitehaven offensive guard Melvin McBride (Tennessee), Columbia Academy defensive back Rush Lansdell (UT-Martin), FRA defensive tackle Tymon Mitchell (Georgia), Lausanne defensive back Erek Campbell (Austin Peay), Whitehaven defensive back Vincent Guy (UT-Martin), Oakland running back Xavier Myers (Illinois State), Briarcrest quarterback Jackson Walker (Richmond), Blackman defensive back Adonis Otey (Arkansas), Ensworth defensive back Wesley Walker (Georgia Tech), Independence wide receiver T.J. Sheffield (Purdue), Centennial running back Jariel Wilson (Austin Peay), Hillsboro defensive end Joseph Honeysucker (Memphis), Christian Brothers offensive guard Jacob Likes (Memphis), Whitehaven tight end Cormontae Hamilton (Ohio State), Lausanne defensive back Cameron Sims (Central Arkansas), Farragut wide receiver Tanner Corum (Southern Illinois), Farragut wide receiver Jaden Gibbs (UT-Martin), Mt. Juliet kicker Robbie Brewington (Cumberland), Mt. Juliet punter Matt Pewitt (Cumberland), FACS strong safety Carson Evans (UT-Martin), Watertown athlete Heath Price (Tennessee Tech), Blackman wide receiver Micaleous Elder (MTSU), Pearl Cohn quarterback Xavier Shepard (Kennesaw State), MUS linebacker Dorian Hopkins (Tulsa), Greeneville quarterback Cade Ballard (Army), BGA running back Jaylen Frierson (ETSU), Lebanon defensive end Zion Logue (Georgia), Elizabethton offensive tackle Garrett Jennings (Western Kentucky), ECS kicker Chandler Caughron (Central Arkansas), Smyrna defensive tackle Marlon Alexander (Gardner Webb), Farragut running back Isaiah Gibbs (UT-Martin), Pearl Cohn defensive tackle Elijah Simmons (Tennessee), Oakland defensive back Woodi Washington (Oklahoma), Maplewood defensive back Travares Springer (Western Kentucky), CPA tight end Bryce McCormick (Furman), Pearl Cohn wide receiver Jayden Harrison (Vanderbilt), Science Hill offensive tackle Blake Austin (Coastal Carolina), FRA athlete Lance Wilhoite (Oregon), Cordova offensive lineman Matthew Bedford (Indiana), BGA linebacker Chico Bennett (Georgia Tech), Whitehaven athlete Devin Boddie (Vanderbilt), Red Bank athlete Calvin Jackson (Wofford), Whitehaven athlete Keveon Mullins (South Carolina), Davidson Academy quarterback Stone Norton (Florida International), Christian Brothers defensive end Christian James (Vanderbilt), Germantown tight end Conner Richardson (Tulane), Dyersburg linebacker Chris Russell (Memphis), Karns athlete Thomas Harper (Oklahoma State), MBA linebacker Jackson Hannah (Nebraska), Oakland defensive end Joseph Anderson (South Carolina), Davidson Academy running back Da’Joun Hewitt (Purdue), Davidson Academy defensive end Ani Izuchukwu (Mississippi State), Greeneville wide receiver Dorien Goddard (Virginia), Memphis Central defensive tackle Trevis Hopper (Memphis), Greeneville tight end Cameron Hite (Wake Forest), Christian Brothers defensive end Bill Norton (Georgia), MUS defensive back Maurice Hampton (LSU), MBA offensive lineman Jackson Lampley (Tennessee), Kirby quarterback Jaden Johnson (Louisville), Independence quarterback Nathan Cisco (Idaho), Grace Christian Academy offensive tackle Wes Dorsey (Western Kentucky) and Friendship Christian defensive tackle Luke Smith (Appalachian State).

Contact Donovan at donovans1222@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter at Examine_Stew

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *