October 18, 2019

Presented By

Aflac Brentwood Hearing Center Coleman Group Dairy Queen Two Rivers Ford

Donovan Stewart’s Class 6A Region Rundown

Donovan Stewart’s Class 6A Region Rundown

We are only a week away as the start of high school football regular season will begin next Thursday, August 16 and a full slate of games will commence next Friday August 17.

In the spirit of the greatest sport fixing to get underway, tnhighschoolfootball.com will take a quick look at all 55 regions in all classifications continuing today with Class 6A.

The region rundown has the following six categories, a list of the region teams, who the new region head coaches are, who the longest tenured coach is in the region, who the region kingpin is and how many consecutive region games they have won, four region players to watch and the four teams that will be playoff bound this year (both categories are listed alphabetically).

Here’s the remaining schedule for the region rundowns
August 10- 6A
August 15- Division II-A
August 16- Division II-AA
August 17- Division II-AAA

Region Teams- (7)- Bearden, Dobyns Bennett, Farragut, Hardin Valley, Jefferson County, Morristown West and Science Hill
New Region Head Coaches- (1)- Joey Christian, Dobyns Bennett
Longest Tenured Coach- Eddie Courtney, Farragut, 22 years
Region Kingpin- Dobyns Bennett. The Indians sent Graham Clark into retirement with a region title and they enter the Joey Christian era with a five game winning streak
Four Region Players To Watch- Science Hill OL Blake Austin, Farragut RB Kyle Carter, Farragut RB Isaiah Gibbs and Dobyns Bennett OL Cade Salyers
2018 Playoff Teams- Bearden, Dobyns Bennett, Farragut and Science Hill

Region Teams- (7)- Bradley Central, Cleveland, Heritage, Maryville, McMinn County, Ooltewah and William Blount
New Region Head Coaches-(1)- Scott Chandler, Ooltewah
Longest Tenured Coach- Tie between Damon Floyd, Bradley Central and Bo Cagle, McMinn County, 12 years
Region Kingpin- Maryville. The Rebels are the ultimate region kingpin winning 118 straight region games not tasting defeat in the region since 2000
Four Region Players To Watch- Maryville WR A.J. Davis, Maryville RB Tee Hodge, Ooltewah RB Sincere Quinn and Bradley Central QB Dylan Standifer
2018 Playoff Teams- Bradley Central, Cleveland, Maryville and Ooltewah

Region Teams- (7)- Blackman, Coffee County, Cookeville, Oakland, Riverdale, Siegel and Warren County
New Region Head Coaches- (1)- Kit Hartsfield, Blackman
Longest Tenured Coach- Jimmy Maynord, Cookeville, 5 years
Region Kingpin- Oakland. The Patriots have won 25 straight region games, last losing to Blackman in the first game of the 2014 season, coach Kevin Creasy is 20-0 at Oakland since arriving in 2015.
Four Region Players To Watch- Oakland DE Joseph Anderson, Blackman WR Micaleous Elder, Blackman WR Trey Knox and Oakland DB Woodi Washington
2018 Playoff Teams- Blackman, Cookeville, Oakland and Riverdale

Region Teams- (6)- Hendersonville, Lebanon, Mt. Juliet, Rossview, Station Camp and Wilson Central
New Region Head Coaches- (1)- James Beasley, Hendersonville
Longest Tenured Coach- Shaun Hollingworth, Station Camp, 15 years
Region Kingpin- Mt. Juliet. The Bears have won back to back region titles and head into the 2018 on an 11 game winning streak inside the region
Four Region Players To Watch- Mt. Juliet RB/LB Reggie Grimes, Hendersonville RB Derek Kincaid, Lebanon DE Zion Logue and Mt. Juliet RB/DB Michael Ruttlen
2018 Playoff Teams- Hendersonville, Lebanon, Mt. Juliet and Rossview

Region Teams- (7)- Antioch, Cane Ridge, LaVergne, McGavock, Nashville Overton, Smyrna and Stewarts Creek
New Region Head Coaches-No New Coaches
Longest Tenured Coach- Matt Williams, Smyrna, 10 years
Region Kingpin- Cane Ridge. The Ravens have won back to back region titles and enter the season with 18 consecutive wins in the region
Four Region Players To Watch- Smyrna DL Marlon Alexander, Cane Ridge ATH Jacquez Norman, Cane Ridge RB Devon Starling and Smyrna RB/DB Blake Watkins
2018 Playoff Teams- Cane Ridge, LaVergne, Smyrna and Stewarts Creek

Region Teams- (6)- Brentwood, Centennial, Dickson County, Franklin, Independence and Ravenwood
New Region Head Coaches-No New Coaches
Longest Tenured Coach- Donnie Webb, Franklin, 6 years
Region Kingpin- Ravenwood. The Ravenwood won a rough and tumble region last year and enter the season with four straight wins in the region
Four Region Players To Watch- Ravenwood QB Brian Garcia, Independence WR T.J. Sheffield, Brentwood OL/DL Tank Starr and Centennial RB Jariel Wilson
2018 Playoff Teams- Brentwood, Franklin, Independence and Ravenwood

Region Teams- (5)- Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Cordova and Houston
New Region Head Coaches-(2)- Marcus Wimberly, Cordova and James Thomas, Houston
Longest Tenured Coach- Mike O’Neill, Collierville, 6 years
Region Kingpin- Cordova. The Wolves will be under the leadership of Marcus Wimberly this season and have a four game region streak
Four Region Players To Watch- Cordova OL Matthew Bedford, Arlington WR Devin Chandler, Houston OL Kip Frankland and Arlington RB Kenneth Walker
2018 Playoff Teams- Arlington, Collierville, Cordova and Houston

Region Teams- (4)- Germantown, Memphis Central, Whitehaven and White Station
New Region Head Coaches-(1)- Major Wright, Memphis Central
Longest Tenured Coach- Rodney Saulsberry, Whitehaven, 14 years
Region Kingpin- Germantown. The Red Devils surprised everyone in the state last year by having an undefeated regular season and winning the region, they go into this year winners of four straight region games
Four Region Players To Watch- Whitehaven LB Bryson Eason, Whitehaven TE Cormontae Hamilton, Memphis Central DT Trevis Hopper and Germantown QB Ethan Payne
2018 Playoff Teams- Germantown, Memphis Central, Whitehaven and White Station

Contact Donovan at donovans1222@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter at Examine_Stew

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *