CPA’s Patterson Picks Buckeyes

CPA’s Patterson Picks Buckeyes
Kane Patterson is heading to Columbus to play his college football.
The CPA linebacker chose the Buckeyes over offers from Alabama, Tennessee, Texas A&M, Auburn, Cincinnati, Duke, Georgia Tech, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisville, LSU, Memphis, Mississippi State, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Northwestern, Oklahoma, Ole Miss, Southern Mississippi, Stanford, Texas San Antonio, Vanderbilt, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Wake Forest and Wisconsin.
Patterson (6-2, 225) had a solid junior season as he made 64 tackles including 10.5 tackles for loss and at running back on led the CPA ground game with 1,033 yards rushing and scored 23 touchdowns as the Lions finished 10-3. 
“Kane is a terrific young man. He has worked extremely hard for this opportunity and combined with his God given ability he will make a great asset for Ohio State. Kane will be successful as a leader and someone they can count on everyday. We are excited for him and his family,” CPA coach Ingle Martin said.
He joins teammate Bryce McCormick as Lions who have announced their college choice in the last week as McCormick announced his commitment to Furman last Wednesday.
Patterson is the third instate player to commit to the Buckeyes in two years joining Max Wray (Franklin) and Master Teague (Blackman) who signed with Ohio State in the Class of 2018.
The following 32 players have committed in the Class of 2019:
CPA Linebacker Kane Patterson (Ohio State), Oakland defensive back Woodi Washington (Oklahoma), Independence wide receiver T.J. Sheffield (Notre Dame), Maplewood defensive back Travares Springer (Western Kentucky), CPA tight end Bryce McCormick (Furman), Lausanne running back Eric Gray (Michigan), Pearl Cohn wide receiver Jayden Harrison (Vanderbilt), Science Hill offensive tackle Blake Austin (Coastal Carolina), FRA athlete Lance Wilhoite (Oregon), Cordova offensive lineman Matthew Bedford (Indiana), BGA linebacker Chico Bennett (Georgia Tech), Whitehaven athlete Devin Boddie (Vanderbilt), Red Bank athlete Calvin Jackson (Wofford), Whitehaven athlete Keveon Mullins (South Carolina), Fulton linebacker Robquan Thomas (Austin Peay),  Davidson Academy quarterback Stone Norton (Florida International), Christian Brothers defensive end Christian James (Vanderbilt), Germantown tight end Conner Richardson (Tulane), Dyersburg linebacker Chris Russell (Memphis), Karns athlete Thomas Harper (Oklahoma State), MBA linebacker Jackson Hannah (Nebraska), Siegel defensive end Joseph Anderson (South Carolina), Davidson Academy running back Da’Joun Hewitt (Purdue), Davidson Academy defensive end Ani Izuchukwu (Mississippi State), Greeneville wide receiver Dorien Goddard (Virginia), Memphis Central defensive tackle Trevis Hopper (Memphis), Greeneville tight end Cameron Hite (Wake Forest), Christian Brothers defensive end Bill Norton (Georgia), MUS defensive back Maurice Hampton (LSU), MBA offensive lineman Jackson Lampley (Tennessee), Kirby quarterback Jaden Johnson (Louisville), and Friendship Christian defensive tackle Luke Smith (Appalachian State).
Cardwell Resigns as Head coach at Boyd Buchanan
After two seasons as head coach at Boyd Buchanan, Carter Cardwell has resigned as the Buccaneer head football coach.
Cardwell, 58 complied a 9-12 record as the Boyd head man and ushered the Buccaneers into Division II-AA play this season.
In 2016, their last season in Division I, the Buccaneers finished 7-4 and lost in the Class 2A playoffs to Watertown, last season, the first season in Division II-AA, Boyd finished 2-8 and missed the playoffs.
Before becoming the head coach, Cardwell spent six seasons as the Buccaneer offensive coordinator.
He also has coached as an assistant at his alma mater Loudon, Red Bank and McMinn County and on the college level at Chattanooga, Auburn, Clemson, VMI, Sewanee and Maryville College.
Contact Donovan at and follow him on Twitter at examine_stew

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *