July 14, 2020

Presented By

Aflac Brentwood Hearing Center Coleman Group Dairy Queen Two Rivers Ford

2018 Mr. Football Award Ceremony

2018 Mr. Football Award Ceremony

The Tennessee Titans and Nissan Stadium played host to the 2018 TSSAA Mr. Football award ceremony Sunday evening. The event featured a great collection of players, coaches, and families from across the state. It is always amazing to see the hard work these deserving players have put in to their game recognized and awarded at these events. Below are the winners from each classification as well as some quotes from some of the coaches and players involved. Congratulations to all the finalists.

Mr. Football 1A

Class 1A: Winner-Bryce Hanley, Greenback    Runner ups: Cameron Whitaker, Cornersville    Dezman Johnson, Lake County

-Cornersville Head Coach Gerard Randolph on finalist Cameron Whitaker: “I’ve told a lot of people that he’s just an exceptional young man. Probably a better young man than he is anything but we know he is a really good football player. He’s meant a lot to this program for the last four years. He’s been a starter for us since he entered the Bulldog program and he’s just a football player, man.”

Mr. Football 2A

Class 2A: Winner-Aaron Swafford, Meigs County    Runner ups: Jeremiah Batiste, Tyner Academy    J.D. Dixon, Waverly

-Meigs County winner Aaron Swafford: “It’s recognition for not only me but for the whole county and for my whole team.  I wouldn’t be here without any of my teammates or coaches guiding me the whole way.  They are the key to my success and I have to give them and God all the glory.” 

Mr. Football 3A

Class 3A: Winner-Walker  Russell, Alcoa    Runner ups: Kam Harris-Lusk, Fairview    Xavier Shepherd, Pearl Cohn

Mr. Football 4A

Class 4A: Winner-Cade Ballard, Greeneville      Runner ups: Bobo Timotheus Hodges, Maplewood     Stanton Martin, Anderson County

-Maplewood Head Coach Arcentae Broome on finalist Bobo Hodges: “The kid has been our starting quarterback since the fifth game of the season of his freshman year.  He’s been our captain and catalyst for our offense.  Just a tough kid, gritty kid.  I always tell him this, ‘I need to get some of that Bret Favre tonight’.  When you have a kid that can bring that to you and display it, it brings toughness to your entire team.”

Mr. Football 5A

Class 5A: Winner-Deshawn Page, Fulton High School   Runner ups: Cade Larkins, David Crockett      Herbert Booker, Oak Ridge

Mr. Football 6A

Class 6A: Winner-Devon Starling, Cane Ridge   Runner ups: Xavier Myers, Oakland   T.J. Sheffield, Independence

-Oakland Head Coach Kevin Creasy on finalist Xavier Myers: “Xavier is good on the field, good off the field.  He’s just a high character, quality student athlete.  He’s everything you want in a guy that everybody looks up to.  My eleven year old is a ball boy for us so you want good quality role models on the team and I’ll just point at Xavier because he comes to work everyday and doesn’t get a big head with all these accolades he’s receiving.  Always going to get his best and that’s because he’s a high quality kid.” 

-Cane Ridge Head Coach Eddie Woods on winner Devon Starling: “Tremendous leadership. He’s leads by example a lot.  Just a grinder kid, old school type mentality and work ethic.  I’m going to hate to see him go.  Just some things that aren’t so popular these days, he does.  He does all the small things right. Great academic kid.  He’s well deserving of anything he can get.”

-Cane Ridge Mr. Football winner Devon Starling on award: “I feel great.  At the end of the day I’d trade this to be playing Friday.  Still,  I wouldn’t be here without my team.  My o-line and everybody. We fought hard and lost in the second round but I still love playing with the kids I did and I wouldn’t be here with this trophy without them.”

Mr. Football DII A

Division II Class A: Winner-Stone Norton, Davidson Academy    Runner ups:  Da’Joun Hewitt, Davidson Academy  Rube Scott Rhea, Fayette Academy

-Davidson Academy Head Coach Jonathan Quinn on finalist Da’Joun Hewitt: “He’s a complete running back.  Obviously he can get big yards.  He has the speed to take it the distance and the power to get tough yards.  He can pick up the blitz and he can catch it out of the backfield.  He’s turned himself into just an outstanding complete running back.”

-Davidson Academy Head Coach Jonathan Quinn on winner Stone Norton: “Stone Norton has turned himself into an elite quarterback.  It’s his third year starting.  He added 25 lbs in the offseason and it’s showing up in his confidence and strength.  He can make all the throws and he’s reading (defenses) at a high level right now.  He’s accuracy is tremendous.” 

-Mr. Football winner Stone Norton on award: “It means a lot.  It’s a honor but I also have to thank the linemen and receivers because without them I wouldn’t be able to do it.  Whenever I think about it I tend to think about all the people that helped me get here.  It’s an honor for me but also my teammates.  And that me and Da’Joun both got nominated means a lot to me.”

Mr. Football DII AA

Division II AA: Winner-Eric Gray, Lausanne   Runner ups: Noah Henderson, CPA  Cameron Wynn, Notre Dame

-Historic Fact: Eric Gray is the first ever three time winner of the TSSAA Mr. Football award.  

Division II AAA: Winner-Maurice Hampton, Memphis University School   Runner Ups: Bill Norton, Christian Brothers  Omari Thomas, Briarcrest

Mr. Football Kicker

Kicker of the Year Award: Winner-Garrett Taylor, Oakland   Runner Ups: Mason Lafollette, East Hamilton   Zaden Webber, Rossview

-Winner Garrett Taylor on award: “It’s a huge honor.  There are no classifications on this award so it’s the whole state and a huge honor.  The other two finalists were just as worthy for the award.  I wish I could have my entire field goal and punt units on stage with me.  I couldn’t have done it without them.”







Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *