Donovan Stewart’s Class 5A All State Team

Donovan Stewart’s Class 5A All State Team

Farragut made history on two fronts in 2016.

The Admirals led by longtime coach Eddie Courtney made their first state title game and beat then undefeated and Class 5A defending champion Independence 45-35 to win their first state title in football.

The Admirals which will head to Class 6A in 2017 will enter next season with a 12 game winning streak.

So to start the new year, lead writer Donovan Stewart is looking back on the season in 5A with a statewide all state team. will roll out an all state team for each classification (1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A, as well as both Division II classifications). Today, the Class 5A all state team with players selected as 21 spots selected on offense (4 QB, 4 RB, 4 WR, 5 OL, 4 ATH) and 16 spots on defense (4 DL, 4 LB, 4 DB, 4 ATH) as well as one kicker and one punter as well.

Also selected was an Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year and as well as a Coach of the Year. The selection process was based on discussions with 5A coaches across the state as well as seeing players live and on film.

Farragut quarterback Adam Fulton was named the Class 5A Offensive Player of Year while David Demke was the 5A Defensive Player of the Year.

In leading the Admirals to their first state title, Eddie Courtney was named the 5A Coach of the year.

So here’s the full offensive and defensive all state list.

QB- Adam Fulton, Farragut, Sr.
QB- Brandon Hines, Independence, Sr.
QB- Jacob Murphree, Dickson County, Sr.
QB- Zach Rutherford, Campbell County, Jr.
RB- Daymion Blevins, Morristown West, Sr.
RB- Jamal Harden, Shelbyville, Sr.
RB- Jordan Mason, Gallatin, Sr.
RB- Kent’ta Tanner, South Doyle, Sr.
WR- Braden Collins, Farragut, Jr.
WR- Tee Higgins, Oak Ridge, Sr.
WR- Kendrell Scurry, Independence, Soph.
WR- Jack Sensing, Dickson County, Sr.
OL- Jared Edwards, Rhea County, Sr.
OL- Trey Greene, Stewarts Creek, Sr.
OL- Eli Katina, Centennial, Sr.
OL- Christian LeBreche, Brentwood, Sr.
OL- Brad Montgomery, Beech, Sr.
ATH- Tyler Davidson, Cocke County, Sr.
ATH- Kolten Gibson, Walker Valley, Jr.
ATH- Caden Harbin, Knoxville Halls, Sr.
ATH- D.J. Thorpe, Cane Ridge, Sr.

DL- Xayvier Beckingham, McMinn County, Sr.
DL- Trevis Hopper, Memphis Central, Soph.
DL- Ben Hutch, Hillsboro, Sr.
DL- Mike Rhoades, Campbell County, Sr.
LB- Kyndall Clark, Oak Ridge, Sr.
LB- Hunter Dupree, Independence, Sr.
LB- Maleik Gray, LaVergne, Sr.
LB- Cooper Hardin, Farragut, Sr.
DB- Devious Christmon, Centennial, Sr.
DB- Jack DeVault, Farragut, Sr.
DB- Landon Guidry, Independence, Sr.
DB- Brandon Lewis, Cane Ridge, Sr.
ATH- Gus Antoine, Northeast, Jr.
ATH- Cade Burkey, Farragut, Jr.
ATH- David Demke, Independence, Sr.
ATH- Austin Lewis, David Crockett, Jr.

Special Teams
K- Joe Doyle, Farragut, Sr.
P- Tucker Day, Brentwood, Sr.

Award Winners
Offensive Player of the Year- Adam Fulton, Farragut- The senior quarterback was the spark plug for the Admirals state title run as he three for 3,223 yards and 41 touchdowns on the year, including a 290 yards, three touchdown performance in the state title game.

Defensive Player of the Year- David Demke, Independence- Demke was a wrecker of offenses for the Eagles as he totaled 126 tackles on the season which also included 17 quarterback sacks.

Coach of the Year- Eddie Courtney, Farragut- Courtney has been at Farragut for 24 years and that tenure paid off with the school’s first state title in football.

Email Donovan at and follow him on Twitter at Examine_Stew

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *